Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon 2011

2011’s edition of the  Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon 2011 was held on May 29, 2011 in the Everest Region. Athletes had to cover a distance of  42.19 km stretching from the Everest Base Camp to Namche. Sudip Kulung from Solukhumbu emerged as the winner of the marathon by completing the race in 3 hours 49 mins. 6 secs. Ram Kumar Rajbhandari from Khotang finished second while three-time winner Deepak Raj Rai, clinched the third spot. The winner of the women´s category was Ang Futi Sherpa who finished the marathon in 4 hours 46 minutes 14 seconds. Mingma Lohmu Sherpa came second and Cheechee Sherpa was third.The top three winners in the men´s category bagged a purse of Rs 80,000, Rs 40,000 and Rs 25,000 while the prize for the women´s category was Rs 40,000, Rs 25,000 and Rs 16,000 respectively.
In the foreign category, Sylvia Zaskowiee became the first woman to win the title and create a new record in the Everest Marathon. The cross-country skier from Poland finished the marathon in 5 hours 34 mins 6 secs. Christopher Suggit finished second and  Tomaz Kulinski came third. Raju Sindhu from India claimed the title of the half-marathon with a timing of 2 hours 44 minutes 15 seconds. The top three winners in both foreign and half-marathon´ categories bagged a purse of Rs 35,000, Rs 21,000 and 14,000.

Recommended Blogs



Recommended On



Community Service

We work with the motto "Tourism for Development" Explore Himalaya Community Service Project was .

Join Our Community


Recommended On.


Member Of.

Handling Events.

Audited By.